Chevron Left
Back to Advanced Financial Reporting: Accounting for Business Combinations and Preparation of Consolidated Financial Statements

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Advanced Financial Reporting: Accounting for Business Combinations and Preparation of Consolidated Financial Statements by University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

4.7
stars
157 ratings

About the Course

This course covers the accounting for business combinations (ASC 805), the preparation of consolidated financial statements (ASC 810), and other related topics including, but not limited to: step-by-step acquisition, deconsolidation, segments reporting, and the goodwill impairment test. This course begins with a discussion of the scope of ASC 805 and the differences between business combinations and asset acquisitions. Next, the course explores the measurement and recognition principles of the acquisition method to account for business combinations. Then, the course covers the consolidation process. You will learn how to prepare the consolidated financial statements and make all of the necessary consolidation adjustments....

Top reviews

YM

Aug 8, 2021

This is a rare intermediate accounting course I was looking for. Well supported by good course materials and lectures are easy to understand.

CS

Dec 31, 2021

The professor is a total success, well explained and subjects are easy to develop because of his way with students. Thank you!!

Filter by:

1 - 25 of 54 Reviews for Advanced Financial Reporting: Accounting for Business Combinations and Preparation of Consolidated Financial Statements

By Ali H S

Jul 2, 2022

Brilliant topics and explanations. really insightful to me and will recommend it to my colleagues.

With regards,

Ali

By Prashant S

Dec 10, 2019

Amazing course to take your financial concepts to next level. The course appropriately deals with the complexity of financial consolidation and make concepts very clear. The presentation is a little less jazzy than its contemporaries, however, if you are focussed on what you want this is the course.

By ashwath a

Jun 15, 2021

Very helpful for beginners and lot of interesting being covered and gained a lot of knowledge through this course

By Mustafa O A

Feb 8, 2020

Useful for everyone wants to advance his skills in accounting consolidation.

By Lorraine M

Jun 12, 2021

I believe the content of this course was good. However, the instructor for the class had a very heavy accent and, unfortunately, I could understand very little of the lecture material. To make matters worse, the transcripts of the lectures were obviously done by someone who, like me, could barely understand the instructor! The transcripts contain so many errors that, in many cases, they are virtually unreadable. I quit listening to the videos around Module 4 or 5 as it was just a waste of time. I used the PDF ppts and struggled with the translations to try to learn. That did not work in the cases in which the PDF ppts were absent (at least twice). Finally, I am not sure how others feel, but the fact that the instructor used hand-written examples instead of technology (Excel, maybe?) to show work is absolutely unbelievable. It was made worse by the fact that his handwriting is very, very bad and it was impossible to read what was written. Truly a bad course experience. I don't quite understand reviews that say otherwise.

By Karina B

Sep 9, 2022

The course is very informative and to the point. Actual examples of solving practical tasks are extremely helpful and clarify many things. Although I absorb information much better through reading, the course's mostly video format worked well for me. Quizes were my favorite part because they help you apply new knowlenge immediately. Thanks a lot!

By Megan P

Jul 20, 2022

When getting my BS degree I don't remember much of this being covered. This also helped with more explanation of public and private accounting methods used and related to real life what my current employer is going through with going from a public company to being bought by a private company.

By Melody H

Dec 14, 2020

Very good course. I learned a lot. I wish there was a free accounting textbook to go with the course so that I could go into more depth on some of the subjects. But I got through it and passed the course. :) Time to see what other intermediate or advanced accounting courses they offer.

By Marco A

Oct 12, 2020

The course provides the basic knowledge how to properly evaluate by an accounting standpoint a merger and acquisition of a company under the GAAP.

The professor Kustanovich is straight and explain clearly the content of the lessons.

By Albert B

Jun 25, 2020

An excellent course with an excellent faculty. Broke down the most complicated concepts of consolidation, so quickly and easily. Thank you so much Coursera, University of Illinois and CPA Michael Kustanovich sir !

By Tinashe M

Sep 30, 2022

The course is comprehensive and is delivered at the right pace. As as an Accountant, I found it more invaluable as a refresher course and I urge more people to go through the challenge. The experience is great.

By Yu M

Aug 9, 2021

This is a rare intermediate accounting course I was looking for. Well supported by good course materials and lectures are easy to understand.

By Carlos A H S

Jan 1, 2022

The professor is a total success, well explained and subjects are easy to develop because of his way with students. Thank you!!

By Aleksandra G

Oct 2, 2020

This is an interesting and useful course, but it is definitely not intended for beginners in accounting.

By Kelly R

Jul 1, 2020

Excellent class for anyone in financial reporting looking to brush up on some more technical areas.

By Kelly C

Nov 5, 2021

excelente las explicación, sobre el manejo de las fusiones y consolidaciones de las empresa

By Sheikh W B

May 20, 2020

Very informative and structured course for the learners of group/corporate accounting.

By SYED N A

Nov 29, 2020

Thank you for everything. I will utilize the knowledge that I get from this course.

By Tirth P

Nov 1, 2020

It was too good. Full of financial knowledge and full of extras. Worth full..

By Martin M

Oct 12, 2021

I learned an immense amount about business combinations in this course.

By Siyabonga H

Sep 1, 2020

Good to equip yourself with, and very informative on business mergers.

By Ismaeil H A J A ( O - F A

Aug 9, 2021

excellent course a very good for beginner, gained a lot of knowledge

By Ahamed A

Feb 22, 2021

It was a best course and nice knowledge through which we can grasp.

By Sefiu T O

Jun 8, 2020

I learnt more from the course. It was an interesting experience.

By Abdul M

Sep 7, 2020

I have learning the how to make the financial statements