Chevron Left
Back to The Business of Product Management II

Learner Reviews & Feedback for The Business of Product Management II by Advancing Women in Tech

4.7
stars
178 ratings

About the Course

Sponsored by AMAZON WEB SERVICES (AWS). Learn real-world product management lessons from Amazon, Tesla, Uber, WeWork, Zoom, the United States Armed Forces, Facebook, Google, Alphabet, Poshmark, Slack, Twitter, Headspace, Walmart Labs, Humana, Schwab, Allianz, Amex, Grohe, Amazon, Costco, Progressive, Activision, Yelp, H&M, Basecamp, Microsoft, and more! Featuring: * NANCY WANG, Head of Data Protection Services, Amazon Web Services; Founder and CEO, Advancing Women in Product * VERONICA PINCHIN, Director of Product Management, Sidewalk Labs * KATE ZHANG, Product Manager, Instagram * BARKHA SAXENA, Chief Data Officer, Poshmark This is the second of four courses in the ACE Recommended Real-World Product Management Specialization. When you complete all four courses, you can earn up to 6 college credits....

Top reviews

UI

Oct 10, 2021

The course was very practical and real. Although the peer-graded assignments and review can be difficult for beginners. Some of the concepts are hard to grasp for people who have no finance knowledge

AR

Oct 23, 2022

Excellent course! Love how Nancy teaches actual scenarios and allows you to get a glimpse of being a product management. She is so engaging :) Really happy to have discovered this certification.

Filter by:

1 - 25 of 83 Reviews for The Business of Product Management II

By Brandy L

May 24, 2021

You have to have basic economics and business knowledge in order to complete assignments. There are also not enough people enrolled to complete peer-graded assignments in a timely manner. You are stuck waiting for someone else to take the course in order to complete it.

By Vera T

Jan 29, 2021

I got Product Management certification by finishing Real-World Product Management Specialization that was prepared and lead by Nancy Wang, a Head of Product at Amazon (AWS), who also was a Product Manager at Google and is a CEO and Founder of Advancing Women in Product (AWIP). Nancy shares her knowledge gained throughout her career in those extremely successful companies.

The specialization is a combo of 4 courses to learn product management from different perspectives: customer obsession, market sizing, competitive analyses, success metrics (like KPIs, OKRs, North Stars, A/B/n tests, NPS, CSAT, CES, cohort analyses, LTV, pricing, and financials), etc.

The big advantage of this course is it helps you to create your own portfolio through studying all 4 courses by developing your own product using real-life PM tasks during product management lifecycle from inception till launch. Each task takes about an hour. This work is peer-reviewed and you get real feedback. Even though it is quite time-consuming to do those practical assignments and peer review assignments of other students, it helps to get practical knowledge and learn things by doing, which is especially extremely important for folks who want a transition to a PM role and have no real experience yet.

Another advantage is that you get trained using real PM interview questions. Nancy shares questions from giants like Amazon, Google, Facebook, and Microsoft and helps to master their Behavioral, Product Design, Strategy, Estimation, and Technical interview questions.

Also, it was super useful to listen to interviews and panels that Nancy did with successful senior Product Managers and Leaders in Product where they shared their experience, insights, and tips for PM career, things they are looking for in PM candidates.

On top of that Nancy shares great sources for networking to advance your career as a Product Manager.

I highly recommend every Product Manager to take this up!!

Thank you to Nancy Wang and the rest of #AWIP for putting this course together!

I learned so much that I am excited to take into my current and future roles.

By Christopher T

Mar 14, 2021

Terrific content. Holding back a 5/5 as the video production quality is a bit distracting, e.g. sudden cuts in the middle of paragraphs.

By Kae S L

Jul 26, 2021

Great information and good to know real life vs theoretical roles of PMs. My first critic is I don't see an overall framework of this, lots of information about different parts but not enough on how everything fit together on what a PM has to do when coming up with new products or joining an existing product. Second is sometimes there's not enough guidance on what you should think about when you complete the exercises and how it impacts your strategy. Sometimes the framework is too simple and irrelevant and doesn't explain enough how one should come up with the strategy.

By mzayed

May 14, 2021

It is rare to find such quality material on product management. This content is not just for aspiring product managers, but also for experienced product managers who want to frame their experience and have a more structured approach to building and improving products. Finally, the price tag is very convenient if compared to product management bootcamps in the industry. I almost finished course 1 and 2 in 2 months and looking forward to course 3. My advice for new comers: while the course material is outstanding, the real difference will be maid by practicing the material on your products (even if for some products, not all the material can apply). Thank you Nancy and all the people who worked hard to provide such material.

By Lelush Z

Oct 4, 2022

The second course in the specialization started with the Agile development topic, and I thought it would be a quick pass for me. No, that was not the case XD This course brought me to the GRIT, the OODA loop, the theory behind trustworthy experiments, CSAT, CES, customer retention levels, pricing techniques, and a brief financial analysis. And some topics and calculations were the 'hard thing'. So I had to rely on my perseverance to review additional materials and look for further explanations. Now I have a stronger belief in my skills. Again, this course, like the previous one, contains many practical cases from different industries that inspire you to think broader and apply the techniques you've just learned.

By Ihsan A

Dec 16, 2021

Still with comprehensive content. Actually is very good. Broaden my knowledge that PM not just only handle the product (technical side), but it also takes care of customer satisfaction, review financial statement (advancement from competitive analyis) and so on.

However, if I may give suggestions to the course are attaching the cheat sheet for the metrics and grades by peers actually is good but it will pass if there are other peers that will review the submission.

By Pratheep R

Sep 14, 2021

Continuing from the first course, learned a lot of practical knowledge necessary for PMs. The subjects taught are very relevant and it's a hands on course with assignments most of the subjects taught. As I commented for the first course, would be good if the instructor could provide links for further reading on all the topics as some learners like me often Googled to learn in more depth about the subjects.

By Alix C

Jun 17, 2021

Really appreciate getting a breakdown of the financial aspect of product management since it's the area I'm least familiar with. One aspect that really appeals to me about PM is getting to be involved with every aspect of the product across engineering and business and questions like 'how to price a product' and 'how to design for repeat customers' are just those topics I've been needing to learn about.

By S.Naveen K

Oct 31, 2020

This specialization and courses are one of the best things that happened to my product manager career. Loaded with practical insights and the perspective from the best in world product minds. This specific course deals with the critical day to day activities of the product managers and best practices to effectively use it. Really Loved it!

By Leonardo T

Nov 1, 2020

This course was spectacular, very complete, very good study material and all the topics are very up-to-date, the best were the practical activities because they simulated real situations and had to analyze what was explained in the videos.

One of the best courses I have done in coursera

By Tisa H

Dec 22, 2020

I loved the Business of Product Management I so much that I decided to do this one - I learned SO SO MUCH IN THIS COURSE. It was quite challenging, but that's what it takes to upskill in my career. Can't wait to do the next course in this Specialization!

By Luana R

Sep 30, 2022

The course touch q huge vqriety of topics and goes very far in financial details. I maybe could advice to suggest more readings and materials, as I assume that some participants never studied topics such as economy for example.

I reccommend this course

By Kamini P

Aug 4, 2021

The core concepts of product performance and company performance, customer acquisition are covered to a great extent, developing inquisitiveness to know more about it to improve our command and knowledge about the product or domain we are handling.

By Ali A A F

Oct 27, 2022

In this course we got in deep detaisl on how to excel your work in PM in many aspects such as finance , KPI & other performance metrics. It was a great course that made reflect on my previous experience and link everything together.

By Meghavi V

Mar 23, 2023

The Business of Product Management 2 is analytical and practical in sense of PM decision-making. It is very important to know all the aspects before coming to key decisions and this course covers it all.

By Francesca P

Jan 17, 2021

Would like more examples of how to calculate the LTV where to find the competitor's numbers for this as well as when comparing competitors if they are not publicly traded how to find an income statement.

By Uwa I

Oct 11, 2021

The course was very practical and real. Although the peer-graded assignments and review can be difficult for beginners. Some of the concepts are hard to grasp for people who have no finance knowledge

By Daman D

Nov 12, 2020

Hey! Again, great course. Had an immersive experience learning the nuances around Product Management.

Will it be possible to get access to the "onenote" document you refer to for discussions? Thanks.

By Aliza R

Oct 24, 2022

Excellent course! Love how Nancy teaches actual scenarios and allows you to get a glimpse of being a product management. She is so engaging :) Really happy to have discovered this certification.

By Siddhartha S

Aug 15, 2021

very good concepts, with examples and exercises to practice. This is the closest you can get to experiencing PM function while in training. Highly recommended as part of this series.

By Erica H

Feb 13, 2021

I learned a lot in this course and feel much more confident about going into a future career in product management. All of the videos and assignments were interesting and engaging.

By Tainá C d O

Apr 21, 2022

It isn't my first course about product management but I 've learned lots of new things that already help me in my carrer. Congratulations for this fantastic content!

By Nikhil A

Mar 25, 2023

Very practical and hands-on. While we may not be using all aspects in our everyday life, this is a must-do course for all Product Managers. Love this course

By Evelyn K

May 20, 2021

Participants learn pricing techniques, calculate customer lifetime value, and analyze financial statements to assess the performance of companies.