Chevron Left
Back to Ukraine: History, Culture and Identities

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Ukraine: History, Culture and Identities by University of Washington

4.7
stars
20 ratings

About the Course

Explore the history, culture and society of the people of Ukraine from the Middle Ages to the present in this introductory course developed by the Ukrainian Institute, educational studio EdEra, and the National University of Kyiv-Mohyla Academy and offered on Coursera in cooperation with the University of Washington.   The culture and identities of Ukrainian people have existed in this region for more than a thousand years. Like most Eastern European countries, Ukraine is a rather young country — it declared its independence in 1991. Since then, it managed to survive three revolutions struggling for the protection of democratic values ​​and human rights; radically changed the vector of international politics; and advanced significantly in the development of arts and culture.  Learn about the events and processes that took place before independence was declared and see what historical and cultural heritage was preserved by the Ukrainian people when it entered the 21st century in this program taught by researchers, experts in history and political science, and professors from the National University of Kyiv-Mohyla Academy.  Dr. Natalia Shlikhta, Associate Professor, Head of the Department of History, National University of Kyiv-Mohyla Academy Dr. Maksym Yakovlev, Head of the Department of International Relations, National University of Kyiv-Mohyla Academy, Director of the School for Policy Analysis Dr. Tetiana Grygorieva, Associate Professor of the Department of History, National University of Kyiv-Mohyla Academy Dr. Vadym Aristov, Senior lecturer of the Department of History, National University of Kyiv-Mohyla Academy Dr. Kateryna Dysa, Associate Professor of the Department of History, National University of Kyiv-Mohyla Academy...

Top reviews

AB

Jan 29, 2023

Fantastic short course and I offer everyone who at least has a bit of interest in Ukraine to pass it. Glory to Ukraine.

CC

Jan 18, 2023

An interesting and concise overview of Ukrainian history

Filter by:

1 - 11 of 11 Reviews for Ukraine: History, Culture and Identities

By Jean C

Feb 5, 2023

I was thrilled when I found out about this course through the Facebook page of the Ukrainian Institute, of which a relative of mine, Volodymyr Sheiko is the director. ,Although my ancestry is 50 % Ukrainian I did not know a great deal about the history, as my mother (first generation American) had a desire to become Anglicized after she became an adult.

This course gave me a basic understanding of the history of Ukraine and has instilled in me a desire to pursue more reading in depth with the fine and thorough bibilography. The lectures were excellent and I was pleased that I could return and re-read the text, timeline and glossary. I appreciated being able to view the fine professors who had great enthusiasm for this subject matter.

Thank you!

By Patricia H

Jan 22, 2023

This course was incredibly well done. The instructors were quite good although I did struggle to understand them sometimes. The course work, notes, further reading is most beneficial and the the video images helped to understand the literature. I am most appreciative of all the lesson work that all the instructors and support staff did to bring this course to the Coursera knowledge base. Thank you.

I am so sad for Ukraine right now (Jan 2023) as the Russian continue to do destruction. This course has given me insight into the history of Ukraine leading up to this invasion. I know now that Ukraine has a long history of strife and I understand the Ukrainian peoples fierce nationality and sobeit. Long life Ukraine. Peace for Ukraine

By Ландвитович А

Feb 3, 2023

During this course I renewed my knowledge of Ukrainian history, discovered similarities between historical processes of Ukraine and Western Europe and learned about life of cultural minorities in Ukraine. But first of all, it is a nice course to get acquainted with Ukrainian history. Thank you for such great work!

By Lisa G M

Jan 31, 2023

very interesting and educational! thank you for having subtitles, as sometimes the instructors' accents were a challenge for me to follow. The information they shared was very useful, and I'm glad to know more about the background of Ukraine now.

By Anton B

Jan 30, 2023

Fantastic short course and I offer everyone who at least has a bit of interest in Ukraine to pass it. Glory to Ukraine.

By Catherine M

Jan 19, 2023

An interesting and concise overview of Ukrainian history

By Nancy E R

Jan 27, 2023

EXCELLENT!!

By Martin C

Jan 24, 2023

Excellent course, just a bit too short!

By Мантаева Т С

Jan 26, 2023

When will you issue the certificate?

By Gary D

Feb 1, 2023

The course was too short, unfortunately some of the speakers were very difficult to understand. I would like to have a more in-depth history study, also studying Ukrainian art, music and culture in general and how it differentiates from Russian.